Crisis rocks Kogi PDP as Chieftains accuse Atiku of dare to Impose Dino Melaye as governorship candidate

The elders of Kogi State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have called on Abubakar Atiku, the presidential candidate of the party, to immediate retract his alleged steps and allow the original delegates list from the 21 local government areas to scale through.

The elders disclosed this in the statement signed by its leader, Alhaji Ibrahim Dansofo.

According to Dansofo, the state chapter of the party stood by Atiku in the just concluded general elections but he decided to pay them back by trying to impose Senator Dino Melaye as the party’s governorship candidate.

They accused the former Vice President of plotting to deprive the other nine aspirants of the opportunity for a fair, primary election as the authentic list of delegates was being altered to allow Melaye have his way.

Melaye was one of the spokespersons for PDP Campaign Council, PCC, during Atiku’s campaign.

He was however, defeated by the current president-elect, Bola Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

The statement read, “The group accused Hon. Umar M. Bature National Organising Secretary of the deceitful act by using Kogi State as a mere compensation for Dino Melaye who only functions as an MC to Atiku Abubakar.

“The group has threatened to leave the party massively and empty the party as a way of rewarding them back for this betrayal, Dansofo said since Dino joined the party all he is known for is short cut and jumping the process and this will not be allow to continue

“The group also accused Melaye of working for the All Progressives Congress candidate person of Hon Sunday Karimi instead of Hon Teejay Yusuf in the last election.”

Recall the screening committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) cleared Dr Reuben Atabo (a SAN) and nine others as aspirants for its ticket in the forthcoming Kogi State governorship contest.

The others are; Senator Dino Melaye, Engr. Musa Wada, Sen. Atai Aidoko Ali, Barr. Mohammed Kabiru Usman, Abayomi Awoniyi, Bolufemi Olarotimi, Abdullahi Haruna (SAN), Gideon Ojata and Idoko Kingsley Ilonah.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.